Dr. Mostafa Karimian Eghbal

Dr. Mostafa Karimian Eghbal

Dr Eghbal is Associate Professor at Tarbiat Modares University since 2004. Prior to that, he was a faculty member in Isfahan University of Technology. He received his MS and PhD from University of California at Davis and BS from California Polytechnic State University San Luis Obispo. 

Dr Eghbal has been one of the pioneers for establishment of science and technology parks and incubators in Iran. Since 2000, he became directly involved in the management of Isfahan Science and Technology Town (ISTT) as Vice-President of Technology and then President of ISTT. In 2004, he was asked by the Minister of Science, Research and Technology (MSRT) to promote science parks and incubator in other regions of Iran based on experiences gained in Isfahan. As Deputy Minister of Technology, he was able to support the establishment incubators and science parks across Iran. Dr Eghbal has also been involved in the development of concept of incubation and science parks based on local conditions.

Dr Eghbal has been in the private sector since 2005 and has become involved in consultation to public and private sectors in the area of Technology Development, Science and Technology Parks and Incubators. He has many publications nationally and internationally on the subject. To promote the idea of STPs and incubators among government and private sectors, Dr Eghbal has been involved in organizing many national and international conferences and workshops. His role as local facilitator in workshops held by international experts is very effective in combining local knowledge with international experiences. During this time, he also joined a group of Iranian expatriates to establish the Iranian Business School (IBS).

Dr Eghbal has also been active internationally. He promoted the strong participation of Iranian parks and incubators in the International Association of Science Parks and formation of West Asia Division of IASP. He served as the member of Advisory Council of the International Association of Science Parks from 2008 to 2010 and as the President of West Asia and North Africa (WANA) Division of IASP from 2014 to 2016.

Comments are closed.